Of Things and of Life

 

Constantly working for something I dream

But waiting the moment for when I can shine

A breeze, soft and gentle, rubs all of my skin

And I start to shiver as it is not mine

 

What I thought was given, what I thought I owned

Integrity, power, they all seem so lost

Because living is painful and thus I lay prone

Because nothing is easy when things have a cost

 

But more than just money, heart, soul, and the mind

The cost of being “healthy” is something I fear

It leaves you with nothing, just you undermined

An empty existence with death always near

 

As I try my best to be someone of virtue

The demons around me are dancing at beat

I long to be happy, man of pulchritude

I’m afraid I might end dancing there at their feast

 

Constantly working for something I dream

But waiting the moment for when I can live

A shallow sea opens and my life I bream

Now nothing can stop me but, do I believe?

 

I do and I’m ready to take action, indeed

To make of my hollowness a garden, a thing

And tell me and others how great life can be

When you let go monsters and start to be free

2 thoughts on “Of Things and of Life

Leave a Reply

